Have you prayed about it as much as you’ve talked about it?

Image

 

*DISCLAIMER: This is a political post.

 

**DISCLAIMER: I was angry last night (mostly at my news feed on Facebook).

 

***DISCLAIMER: I walked in the flesh.

 

I’ve done some serious repenting and pouring out my heart to the Lord, and I’d just like to share some thoughts with you on prayer.

 

Prayer is the spiritual breath of a believer in Christ Jesus. Word.

 

I am so disappointed in some of my “Christian” friends who claim “All we can do now is pray.” All we can do? ALL we can do? What does that say about your view of prayer, friend? About your view of God?

 

Shame on you.

 

Psalm 24:1 says:

 

The earth is the LORD’s, and all it contains,

The world, and those who dwell in it.

2  For He has founded it upon the seas

And established it upon the rivers.

 

These verses tell me that the Lord established the earth; He created it. And he rules and reigns over everything in the earth. When we pray, we are talking to the Most High God!

 

James 5:16, ESV

Therefore, confess your sins to one another and pray for one another, that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous person has great power as it is working.

 

No explanation necessary.

 

You might want to sit down for this one: Mark 11:22

 

And Jesus answered saying to them, “Have faith in God. 23 Truly I say to you, whoever says to this mountain, ‘Be taken up and cast into the sea,’ and does not doubt in his heart, but believes that what he says is going to happen, it will be granted him. 24 Therefore I say to you, all things for which you pray and ask, believe that you have received them and they will be granted you.”

 

I can’t speak for you, but Jesus absolutely wrecked my world with those two verses. He addresses the issue of doubt and ties up every little detail that the human psyche gets caught up on. Believe. Ask. Pray. Don’t doubt. Have faith in God. Mmm, good stuff.

 

Not only do the Scriptures tell us to pray in faith, believing that God is bigger than our circumstance, but they also tell us to pray God’s will.

 

Luke 22: 41

“[a]nd He knelt down and began to pray, 42 saying, “Father, if You are willing, remove this cup from Me; yet not My will, but Yours be done.”

 

Jesus Himself prayed for the Father’s will. In the Garden of Gethsemane, for crying out loud! That was right before He was betrayed to the officials and suffered on a cross for you and me! I think that’s a little bit bigger of a deal than being disgruntled over the results of an election. Just like Jesus, we should pray for God’s will to be done on earth as it is in heaven.

 

Philippians 3:6 is one of my favorites. It says, “Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.”

 

We have access to God through Jesus as believers. We can boldly approach the throne and make our requests known to the Most High God! I am absolutely blown away… And I am so reminded that God cares about every intimate detail of our lives. He loves us and He cares for us in such an indescribable and inexplicable way.

 

I Peter 5:7

“casting all your anxiety on Him, because He cares for you.”

 

Such an extraordinary thought.

 

 

I have been so very humbled by this question:

Have you prayed about it as much as you’ve talked about it?

 

**conviction**

 

When I think back on the big decisions I’ve had to make in my life (and ones I’m facing right now), my immediate reaction is to consult people whose opinions I value, people for whom I care deeply and respect beyond all reason. In my rush to seek wise counsel, I find myself running to people – my parents, my best friend, my close friends, my youth pastor, etc.  I do not, however, lay my concerns and anxieties down at the feet of the One who cares for every intimate detail of my life – my Jesus.

  God has really been showing me a lot about faith in my quiet times lately. I think that if we really believed that God is who He says He is, and if we really had faith that He will fulfill His promises, then I think we would live our lives a little differently. Our Facebook statuses and tweets wouldn’t be bashing the voting system, the presidential candidates, and certainly not this country.

 

I cannot effectively communicate to you how weighty is our duty to pray for our President. You may not like him; you may not agree with certain aspects of his campaign; you may not even like the way he looks. But I’ll tell you one thing, brother or sister in Christ – all authority is established by God.  That is where I’m finding my peace. Won’t you join me in praying for and honoring our President? Dr. Moore said it well when he said “Let’s render unto Caesar, as free people with natural rights. Because we know as believers that we will eternally say “Jesus is Lord,” we can as citizens temporally say, “Hail to the chief.”

 

 

“…Pour out your heart like water before the presence of the Lord….”

(Lamentations 2:19, NASB)

Leave a Reply

